Human Trafficking Month

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m baaack! After a few weeks of withdrawal from social media, I’m excited to plunge back in and continue on this wonderful journey. I just love that warm & fuzzy feeling of interacting with my readers through this blog, sharing my thoughts about different things, and talking about the stuff I love to write about.

Well, I can hardly contain the excitement as I spill out my latest news! My new release, Finding Freedom, is launching January 28th! This story is very close to my heart.

Human trafficking is a topic not many know a whole lot about. Although human slavery has been around forever, most folk believe it stopped years ago when slavery was abolished. But, that’s not the case at all. It’s far more dangerous now because we can’t see it. There are more human slaves in captivity today than at any other time in history – to be specific, somewhere between 20-30 million people worldwide!

Makes you think, doesn’t it?

That is the theme of my latest book, Finding Freedom. When I started working on this book, the topic of human trafficking was extremely hush-hush. But, I felt drawn to it and compelled to expose it. I needed to scratch through the crusty surface and find out more. There were literally zero articles about the topic (at least, not where I was looking), like it simply didn’t exist.

Through the course of researching and writing the book (which took me 3 years, by the way), slowly but surely I noticed little snippets of information being released in the media. It was incredible to observe something so secretive and sinister, gradually being publicized and exposed.

Now we have Human Trafficking month (January), worldwide campaigns, and law enforcement units dedicated to fighting this evil. It’s been amazing to sit on the outskirts and watch it unfold at the same time my book was taking shape.

I’m just so thankful for all the organizations and individuals out there who are trying to make a difference. My hope is that Finding Freedom will further create awareness of this evil. Presented in novel format with realistic characters, I hope this book helps people grasp the intricacies of human trafficking in an easy-to-understand manner.

Can’t wait to read your comments!

Leave a Reply

